Product Idea |

The WHEEL OF TIME: Bookends and Displays


Last Updated . Click "Updates" above to see the latest.

“The Wheel weaves as the wheel wills.”

The Wheel of Time turns, and with each new Age, a man called the Dragon is again reborn. 
With each cycle of the Wheel, this champion of the Light used magic to defeat the Dark One. But when his previous victory ended with the Dark One tainting the male half of the Power, the Dragon and any male who channeled after were eventually driven into madness.

 In the Third Age, the Aes Sedai Moiraine Damodred and her Warder al'Lan Mandragoran come across three young men named Perrin Arybara, Matrim Cauthon, and Rand al'Thor.

 Though all three have the fate of the world in their hands, only one of them is the legendary hero, the Dragon Reborn, destined to either defeat the Dark One and save the world, or succumb to the madness and destroy it.

“Let the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.”

30 years ago, on 15 January 1990, Robert Jordan published the first book of what was to be a twelve book epic fantasy series. When he unexpectedly passed away on 16 September 2007, Jordan’s widow chose the author Brandon Sanderson to finish writing the conclusion.
With Jordan's notes as a guide, Sanderson extended the twelfth book into three seperate books, the last of which was published on 8 January 2013.

On 18 March 2016, I finished reading The Wheel of Time book series by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson.

I loved it so much, I wanted to pay tribute to it in LEGO form, so I built minifigures and 14 backgrounds based on the book sleeves.

In 2020, I came across photos of those old builds and decided to rebuild them all (though only four are in this project, which included about 1,200 pieces.

2020 was the 30th Anniversary of the first book's publishing, and with the upcoming TV series yet to come, I thought fans would enjoy this tribute.

#1-The Eye of the World:
Three people ride their horses over grassy lands on a moonlit-night consisting of stars and clouds while a mysterious bat creature flies overhead.

Includes Moiraine, Lan, and Rand al’Thor along with their horses Aldieb, Mandarb, Red, and a Draghkar (represented by the bat).

On the back is a brick-built number 1 and the Aes Sedai symbol before the Time of Madness.

#2 The Great Hunt:
As dawn lights the sky, three figures look at a mysterious horn, even as an armored man watches them from a distance.

Includes Rand al'Thor, Loial the Ogier, the Lady Selene, and a Seanchan warrior*.

On the back we can see the number 2, and the Horn of Valere (a tool meant to be used against the Dark One) and the ruby-hilted Dagger from Shadar Logoth.

#13 Towers of Midnight:
Three men in an autumn environment attempt to gain entrance to a mysterious tower by tracing a symbol on its exterior.

Includes Matrim Cauthon, Thom Merrilin, and Noal.

On the back are two LEGO dice and a number 13.

# 14 A Memory of Light:
Armed with his crystal-like sword Callandor, the Dragon Reborn descends into Shayol Ghul for the final battle with the Dark One, even as the sun is eclipsed by darkness behind him.

It includes The Dragon Reborn (whose minifigure has two right arms rather than the usual left and right, creating the pose needed).

On the back, we can see the number fourteen and the symbol of the Snake-Wheel, a snake biting its own tail interwoven with the Wheel of Time, (the most iconic symbol of the books; it is meant to be a golden color).

Each display has the option of being built with ends, or without for simple display purposes. There is also the option of having them connect into one large bookend by using TECHNIC bricks and pins.

Finally, we have two bonus minifigures to depict who began and who finished this series.
Robert Jordan has a cane and a blue book representing book 1 and Brandon Sanderson has a manuscript (Jordan's notes) and a brown book representing book 14 (maybe both books could have the titles printed on the covers, and inside tile pieces that have the Snake Wheel?).

The only thing missing is some kind of sticker or plate to denote the 30th Anniversary of The Wheel of Time.

I hope you enjoy the build and feel inspired! Thanks for the support! Feel free to share with your friends!

“Let the Dragon BUILD again on the BRICKS of time.”

*: See my YouTube review for more details.

Opens in a new window