Product Idea |

LEGO the Wheel of Time Bookends


Last Updated . Click "Updates" above to see the latest.

“The Wheel weaves as the wheel wills.”

The Wheel of Time turns, and with each new Age, a man called the Dragon is again reborn. With each cycle of the Wheel, this champion of the Light has channeled magic to defeat the Dark One. However, before his previous defeat, the Dark One managed to taint the male half of the Power, causing all males that channel to eventually go mad.

In the Third Age, the Aes Sedai Moiraine Damodred and her Warder al'Lan Mandragoran come across three young men named Perrin Arybara, Matrim Cauthon, and Rand al'Thor.

Though unaware of the other two's parts in the Pattern, they know that one of them is the legendary hero destined to either defeat the Dark One and save the world, or succumb to madness and destroy it.

“Let the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.”

30 years ago, on 15 January 1990, Robert Jordan published the first book of what was to be a twelve book series. When he unexpectedly passed away on 16 September 2007, Jordan’s widow chose the author Brandon Sanderson to finish writing the conclusion.
With Jordan's notes as a guide, he managed to extend the series into fourteen books, the last of which was published on 8 January 2013.

I finished this epic fantasy series on 18 March 2016* and loved it.
I built Book Cover Displays based off of what I saw on the books.
It wasn't enough to just have the ground and some boulders, pillars, or mini-buildings; it needed to feel like a window into another world. So I came up with 2-D plate backgrounds.

Six years later, I came across those old designs in my pictures and built them all anew, though only two are included in this project. They were based off of the front covers of the first and fourteenth books of the series, and include 4 minifigures.

#1-The Eye of the World: Three people ride their horses over grassy lands on a moonlit-night consisting of stars and clouds while a mysterious bat creature flies overhead.

It includes Moiraine, Lan, and Rand along with their horses Aldieb, Mandarb, Red, and a bat (Draghkar).
On the back is a brick-built number one and the symbol of the Aes Sedai before the Time of Madness.

#14 A Memory of Light- Armed with his glass-like sword Callandor, the Dragon Reborn descends into Shayol Ghul for the final battle with the Dark One, even as the sun is eclipsed by darkness behind him.

It includes The Dragon Reborn, whose minifigure has two right arms rather than the usual left and right, creating the pose needed.
On the back, we can see the number fourteen and the symbol of the Snake-Wheel (a snake biting it's own tail interwoven with the Wheel of Time), the most iconic symbol of the books.

Each display has the option of being built with an end, or without for simple display purposes. There is also the option of having them connect into one large bookend by using TECHNIC bricks and pins.
They aren't interchangeable, but that was because they were built so that they could have 12 other builds connect between them.

The only thing they are missing are the title names on the slopes in the front, and some kind of sticker on the ends denoting the 30th Anniversary of The Wheel of Time (note: pictures not to scale).

These builds also can be seen as a way to prepare for the upcoming TV show yet to be released sometime in 2020-2021.

They took a long time to build, but I am very happy with how they turned out.

Feel free to spread the word and support.
Thank you!
- Bridger Hibbert

Opens in a new window