Product Idea |

The Three Railway Engines: 80th Anniversary


Last Updated . Click "Updates" above to see the latest.

Once upon a time there was a little engine called Edward. He lived in a shed with five other engines.

In the early 1940s, Reverend Wilbert Awdry was trying to entertain his son Christopher, who was bedridden with measles. He decided to tell Christopher stories about three steam engines named Edward, Gordon, and Henry. Overtime, Wilbert wrote the stories down, and upon insistence from his wife Margaret, sent the stories to be published. In 1945, the stories would eventually be published as The Three Railway Engines. This would be the first book in The Railway Series. In 1984, the books would be adapted into the long-running children's television series Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends.

On May 12, 2025, The Three Railway Engines will be celebrating its 80th anniversary. This commemorative set would consist of the following:
  • Edward the Blue Engine with two trucks and a brake van.
  • Gordon the Big Engine with two coaches.
  • Henry the Green Engine with two coaches.
  • 10 minifigures: Edward's driver and fireman, Gordon's driver and fireman, Henry's driver and fireman, Sir Topham Hatt/The Fat Controller, 2 passengers, and a guard.

This would make a great set for rail fans, and fans of The Railway Series.

Opens in a new window